top of page


The Committee is pleased to announce the opening of nominations for the Ben Coleman and Zoe McInnes awards.

Get in Touch
Ben Coleman


In 2019, the ASGC introduced a new travel and study award valued at $5000 to recognise the selfless commitment to our industry by a farmer. This award has been established in memory of Ben Coleman, from Mt Moriah on the Central Darling Downs, who was lost to the industry too soon in late 2017. Ben demonstrated passion and was involved in many grains industry committees, activities and networks. Ben had a unique perspective being a part-time farmer whilst being a rural banker, who then left the bank to expand his family’s farming business. He empathised with farmers and worked hard for better outcomes for growers through selfless involvement in the grains industry. 


Eligible entrants must be a practicing full time farmer and be nominated by industry or their peers.


Entrants will be interviewed by a judging panel from a representative of Suncorp Agribusiness, a Grains Research Foundation Member, a Central Darling Downs Grower Group Member and a Clifton Allora Topcrop Group Member. Finalists for the award will then be selected, notified and invited to attend the conference dinner and awards ceremony where the winner will be announced.


Entries open 1st October 2022 and close on 1st February 2023.

For any questions and to submit the nomination please email:

This award is proudly sponsored by Suncorp and the Australian Summer Grains Crop Groups

Zoe McInnes


Zoe McInnes Memorial Award

The 2023 Australian Summer Grains Conference is once again pleased to call for nominations for the Zoe McInnes award valued at $5000. The award recognizes the outstanding contribution to Agronomic excellence by an agronomist and will be presented as part of the conference dinner awards program.

This Award was established in memory of much loved and valued agronomist Zoe McInnes, who was tragically lost to the industry in a farming accident in 2013. Zoe epitomized the passion and dedication required to continually improve outcomes for the industry through her commitment to providing the best solutions to clients and her own personal development during her career.

Nominations are now open and close at 5.00pm AEST 1st February 2023

Please email the completed application to  Please mark attention to Maree Crawford.

This award is proudly sponsored by the Australian Mungbean Association.

bottom of page